The Night Before Departure and All Through The House…. Michelle was packing and repacking and repacking…..

In lieu of writing about how hard it is to condense 21 years of living into a large suitcase and a carry on, I will just make a list for you of some of the “reasonable items” that I thought would be totally packable that are now being left in the good ol’ U.S. of A. 

Gone with the Wind
Slaughterhouse Five
My favourite ESL grammar book
My Utmost for His Highest
My Sketchbook Journal
Rilke’s Collected Poetry
A packet of handouts about teaching Shakespeare
My only pair of strappy heels
My birkenstocks
A second water bottle
Extra pair of work shoes
A beach towel
Tea maker

Needless to say, there are a lot of things in my life that I think I “need,” but that I probably don’t.  I say “probably” because I don’t like letting things that I perceive to be important go, and because I like being sure that I will be able to handle whatever comes my way. Simplification has always seemed to be an attractive idea, but once I think more about it, it’s like a huge sign in my brain flashes a “NOT SAFE DO NOT PASS GO 0/10 WOULD NOT RECOMMEND” message, and I back out from abandoning the whatever-it-is that I think will some day make me able to cope with life’s challenges.  

So, here’s hoping that “learned how to simplify” gets added onto the list of life lessons I will be learning over the next few years.  

One thought on “The Night Before Departure and All Through The House…. Michelle was packing and repacking and repacking…..

Leave a Reply

