View from the “Village” || A New Page

As many of you know, I live in a development complex that is called a “village.”  Obviously, my high-rise isn’t a village, and my school isn’t a village school.  However, the complex is a “village” in the sense that it is an all included experience.  In the village complex, you can find a school, a mall, a grocery store, a movie theater, restaurants, coffee shops, salons… the list goes on and on.  The fact that it is called a village is, in my mind, a linguistic mix up.  No one really knows that the translation of village is kampung, and no one wants to live in a kampung.

I have added a new sub-page to my Photography page, called “View from the “Village.”   My favourite part of my apartment is the view, and I spend a lot of time by my windows.  I can tell the moment I wake up if it is a smoggy day, or if it is a sunny day.  Sunny days mean blue skies and maybe a mountain range.  Smoggy days mean that I can’t even see the full skyline of central Jakarta.

On days that are particularly pretty, I take photos of the skyline or the mountains.  Those images just sit on my computer (unless they are snapchatted or instagrammed), so I figured, why not share them with all of you?

Enjoy my window view!

Leave a Reply

