The Life and Times of Michelle

A quick update about what’s currently going on in my life. 

School Life:  It’s grading week, where all of the teachers have to tally up grades, evaluate Assessment Outcomes, write about the Work Habits of each individual student, and log them all in the online database.  So, while stress is high, there is one thing that I am excited about!  (Well, two, but books don’t count because I am always excited about teaching novels in my classes!)
In Food Technology, I have been talking to the students a lot about urban gardens, food justice, and how important it is to know about where your food comes from.  To inspire them, we have planted seedlings, and they have sprouted!  It took a lot of work to even get to the point where we could plant seeds, since I couldn’t find soil or seeds anywhere, and I had to ask the school to purchase some.  In addition, my mom scoured our hometown, looking for seeds to send to Indonesia for me, and the work paid off!  The little tomato, chives, spinach, mint, and oregano plants are sprouting, and my students are getting excited about them. They check the plants every day (I warn them to be gentle, something that I am pretty much convinced no 13-year-old can be) and are excited to see the plants get bigger.  The goal is to eventually transplant the seedlings from their home-made, newspaper pots and into larger containers where they can be grown on our school’s rooftop “greenhouse.”

Missing Home:  I haven’t cried since my first few weeks of being in Indonesia, but it’s not because I don’t miss home terribly.  I have begun to long for green grass, the Huron National Forest, my mother’s hugs, and the joys of country road driving. My sole comfort is in the fact that right now, my Michigan home is buried in ice and snow, something that I really don’t care for all that much.   I don’t mean to count down until the next time I will be home, but I can’t help it!  My return to America is in less than five months, and I can’t wait to breathe in fresh air and blast the radio while driving down Eight Mile.  

Future Thoughts:  If you know me at all, you know I am a planner, and that I am always thinking and planning one year ahead.  At my school, December is the month when you have to declare your intent to stay an additional year, and sign your contract for the upcoming academic year.  This means that, while I am still over a year and a half away from being done with my time in Indonesia, my planning instincts have kicked in.  I can’t decide what my next step should be.  Should I stay in Indonesia another year?  Should I try to find a job in Michigan?  Should I go to graduate school?  If so, where?  Should I try to find a job, and then if that doesn’t work, go to graduate school?  If so, which graduate school should I go to?  Should I go part time or full time?   All of these thoughts have been haunting me recently.    I have been given a lot of good advice, but I also need to spend a lot of my time in prayer, considering my options and asking God to show me more clearly what he wants for me in these next couple of years.  Your prayers, too, would be appreciated.  

2 thoughts on “The Life and Times of Michelle

  1. WHAT??? Five months? In five months we will see that beautiful face and awesome smile!!!! THAT IS THE BEST NEWS EVER!!! Michelle, the Lord will be ever so ready to guide you on your next step. He put you in Indonesia and if you are still and listen he will tell you your next move. I am praying that the Lord makes it abundant clear what he wants you to do next. I have missed you but so love your updates. I have begun to look for them and am so thankful for technology. I hear what is going on in your life more now than when you were in South Lyon!! But I love hearing from you and if you inbox me your address, I will indeed put pen to paper and write you a real letter!!! Praying for you that the Lord will make it abundantly clear where you are to go!! xo xo xo xo xo

Leave a Reply

