Upon My (Temporary) Re-Patriation

I realize that we have been apart for almost a year now, and, well….  there are some things about me that have changed.

Mostly these are significant shifts in my perspective on life.
However, I am not going to talk about those things.
Oh no, I am going to talk about all of the shallow things about me that have changed. (And you thought this post was going to be insightful!)

1. I haven’t driven in almost a year.
I don’t know if this should be taken as a warning… but I haven’t driven in a long, long time. Dirt roads, look out!

2. I constantly crave spinach salads.
Spinach is wicked expensive in Indonesia, so while I eat a lot of Romaine at a pretty decent price, I am craving Spinach salads and green smoothies. Bayam, a plant similar to spinach, is inexpensive, but the taste is more bitter than the average spinach variety found in the states.  In addition, the joy of vegetables is dampened by the knowledge of their questionable transportation method and the lingering feeling that you are eating chemicals, too.  (Perhaps this is my personal paranoia?)

3. I drink fermented milk and stopped using shampoo.
Yeah, you read that right.  In the absence of Greek yogurt, I now drink Kiefer, which is a drink made out of “grains” that ferment milk.  It’s actually really good for you, and contains a lot of probiotics.  It’s a bit fizzy and sort of sour… but is great in a smoothie.  My favourite recipe?  Kiefer, apples, honey, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice, blended together. Delicious!
Shampoo is bad for the environment and bad for your hair, so I stopped using it.  It’s only been about 5 weeks of my shampoo liberation, and moving back to America might break me of my shampoo freedom.  Don’t worry, my hair isn’t gross: you totally wouldn’t be able to tell if I hadn’t told you already,

4. Humidity is normal, but I still don’t like it.
Just because it’s always 90 degrees and humid here doesn’t mean that I have magically adjusted to humidity.  While heat seems to be less of a problem, I sleep with my in-room aircon blasting at a magical 19 C.  (It pretty much cools the whole apartment, but my bedroom is the only room I really care about staying cool.)

There are many other things that have changed about me, but you will just have to wait until I write about them sometime in the future (or until I see you in person!).

I leave for the states in six days, and I will land in Detroit in eight (that’s a story for another day), but I will be seeing you all soon!

 

2 thoughts on “Upon My (Temporary) Re-Patriation

  1. Michele, it has been my please to share this year with you! Your posts have always been the highlight of my day. I have loved following you in what I think has been the most exotic journey. It has been so fun to read your thoughts of this marvelous adventure.

    I am so excited you are coming home. I have had the privilege of meeting your father. We were not introduced. I was at camp and walked by his table and spoke to him and them asked him a question. He responded and as I walked away my mind was going “I so know this person!!! Who is…….” I stopped dead in my tracks whirled around and said “YOU ARE RADERING’S FATHER!!!!” I cannot believe I still call you that but that is what Melissa called you for so long and that is what we called you when I feel in love with you! Your father got the biggest grin on his face. I could not believe how much the two of you are alike. Your mannerisms, the inflections and tones in your voice, the way you carry your shoulders make it so evident he is indeed your daddy!!! Gosh it is amazing!! We then had a brief loving argument over who missed you most!!!! He won as he knew how many days it was until you were coming home. It was so obvious from the look on his face when I connect the two of you how proud he is of you!!!! His pride and love for you beamed from his face.

    I too am so very proud of you!! What an achievement. You have blown me away girl!!! You are a courageous and strong women who has really added a great dimension to my life!! Thank you so much for sharing your year with me. I so count it a privilege to call you friend. You have so inspired me to take on new challenges!!!!

    I cannot wait to see you!!! I so love you girl!!!!

    XOXOXOXO

    Linn

    • Aunt Linn!
      This is so kind of you! I am so flattered, and it is the total truth when I say that you are a blessing in my own life, and my memories of your good advice (especially while in high school) and hospitality are cherished by me.
      I can’t wait to see you this summer! I am going to send you a message right now, so that we can decide a time to get lunch together! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

