Pure Michigan

So I had started writing this blog post about traveling and how long it took to get home (over 45 hours) and how I ended up in two hotels (one in Singapore, one in China) but now that I am finally home I just can’t muster the energy.

Why talk about the long trip home when I can talk about how much I love Michigan?

I have only been home for just about two days, but they have been amazing, for a few reasons.

First, I can’t believe I get to be with my family.  I love living abroad and I love my expat family, but there is something about being surrounded by the people who have known you for your whole life and still love you that is impossible to duplicate. Hugs at any time?  Yes, please.

Second is the fact that Michigan might truly be one of the most beautiful places on the planet.  Okay, okay… I guess I am a little bit biased.  But, let me paint a picture of the beauty of a Michigan summer’s day.

IMG_3952

It’s a jaw droopingly beautiful morning.  The sky isn’t quite blue, since there is a dusting of clouds, but the sun is still sharp enough to be felt on your skin.  The grass has been freshly cut, and there is a breeze that winds through the trees.  It’s quiet: there are no sounds of the city, and only one car drives by, accompanied by the sound of gravel crunching under the tires.  The day promises to be hot, but for the moment it is a phenomenal 81F.

Welcome home.

P.S.  This is just my backyard.  Imagine how happy I will be when I visit camp in the Huron National Forest next week, or when I finally make it out to one of the great lakes!
IMG_3943

 

Leave a Reply

