Leaving and Learning

I have been sitting on this announcement for quite some time (since early February), not wanting to make an online announcement until everything was sorted out. Before I could post online, I had to tell my co-workers, my close friends near and far, and break the news to my students that I won’t be coming back to Jakarta for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Why, you might ask?

Because, this fall, I will be moving back to America to be a master’s student at the University of Michigan!

I am so excited for this new chapter in my life.  But, as with all leavings and goodbyes, it’s bitter sweet. As a rule, I am not a fan of “big life changes,” but I always knew that I wouldn’t be staying in Indonesia for more than a handful of years, so it was just a matter of time before I had to move away.  I am really going to miss my community in Kemang, as well as the adventure and excitement that the expat life brings.

However, I am looking forward to learning in a classroom again.  I really, really, like learning.

Many of my friends have earned their master’s degrees through online programs while here in Indonesia, but I am more of an in-the-classroom, small-group-discussion kind of learner.  However, I know that my graduate experience will be very different than my undergraduate community.  My undergraduate Alma Mater had about 1,000 students in every academic year, and it also featured small class sizes and professors who invested deeply in the development of both myself and others in my English Education program.  University of Michigan is a much, much larger school, and is a totally different learning environment, but I am excited for the opportunities to learn and find like minded people in a new space.

New adventures await.

Leave a Reply

